Winter Has Come #CapricornSeason

Norma Wood. 17mm, f16, 20 ", ISO 200 Image Credit: Akos Kiss

To some, December means the end of the year, the end of the warmth and the return of caramel macchiato and pumpkin spice latte addictions.

For me, December means the end of stress, other people’s labor and the beginning of beautiful snowy landscapes, family gatherings and time I can call my own.  I have time to dive into ideas I dreamed up during the summer months and tackle fall’s loose ends.  I’ve always done my best writing and thinking over winter breaks.  Something about the cool air just clears my brain of all the clutter.

Winter is here.  Capricorn season is upon us.

And so is 2012.  Sooooooo much happened….

Over the course of the year, Nuñez Daughter posts appeared online at the Fresh Xpress, For Harriet and the Liberator Magazine and were used as tools in undergraduate courses across the country, including University of Maryland and Bowdoin College (#peace to @ablackgirl and Samaa Abdurraqib).  I’m also surprised and pleased to report that while fewer posts appeared this year, they appeared on a more regular schedule (Monday or Friday), there was at least one blog-a-thon (the AMC 2011 series) and there was more emphasis on Speak Your Mind posts (social and political commentary) than ever before.  This blog, my writing, and my process may be finally hitting its stride!   *throws confetti*

With your financial support, this June, Kismet and MdotWrites joined the Shawty Got Skillz/INCITE: Women of Color Against Violence crew and headed over to AMC 2011 to workshop twitter/tumblr skills.  Our interactive, multimedia, socially networked ‘zine is scheduled to drop this winter (#capricornseason) and is going to be off the damn hook.  Stay tuned for that announcement.

In April, Kismet, along with MdotWrites, Diva Feminist, MoyaZB, Alexis Pauline, La Bianca and countless others created Betta Come Correct, a project in black feminist sexuality and erotic activism:  Because “black feminist sex is the best sex ever.”  Follow us on Tumblr or Facebook and join in the celebration of black lovebirds who love themselves, their partners and their orgasms and won’t let heteropatriarchy tell them any different! #comecorrect

In November, Kismet joined Tony Stark, La Bianca and BlacktinosUS_/La Republica Detroit as the team behind The LatiNegros Project which unveiled a brand new Facebook page in November (see the sidebar, like us today).  #machetebehavior

This December, I quietly introduced a Nuñez Daughter Tumblr, a Tumblr extension of the blog committed to “the writing life.”  I’m looking forward to sharing Nuñez Daughter posts and my own thought process (Speaking My Mind all over Tumblr!) in this new, more streamlined format.

Last, but not least, the Sable Fan Gyrl built me a time machine and I’m hopping in to breeze past my favorite Nuñez Daughter posts from the last year:

  • Reading Dolen’s Wench, Part Two:  I began Dolen Perkins-Valdez’s novel Wench in August 2010 as part of a Twitter book club venture with @fortyoneacres and @mdotwrites.  This was my favorite post of the three posts I ended up writing about the book, in part because I ended up reading Thavolia Glymph’s Out of the House of Bondage at the same time.  Glymph’s book helped me see the ways violence and kinship and power intersected in the historical moment to absolve white mistresses of their own wrong-doings and paint female slaves as always to blame.  But Perkins-Valdez’s reconstruction helped me imagine what that might have meant for the daily lives of children and the consciousness of the next generation of slaves and ex-slaves.  I also learned something about myself–reading slavery as fiction is more work for me than anything else is.  Good work, necessary work but work nonetheless.
  • Sunday Livin’: Matana Roberts’ Coin Coin:  I’m a bit obsessed with  Matana Robert’s multimedia jazz project Coin Coin.  Based on Maria Thereze “Coin Coin” Metoyer, one of the most famous free women of color in Louisiana’s history, and possibly the most famous next to Marie Laveau, Robert’s explores her ancestral connection to Coin Coin through art, music, moving images, sound and digital media.  It is a project in archive, slavery and history as much as it is a musical venture.  The blog she was running is no more, but Roberts continues her work on her Tumblr http://steelkiltrose.tumblr.com/.
  • On Kanazawa, Black Women & Being “Fine” & “Well-Made”:  Remember back when a certain professor claimed science backed up black women being more ugly?  Yeah.  That happened.  It wasn’t a bad dream.  And I responded.  With facts.  Black women have been seen as “fine” and “well-made” for a very long time…and for some very wrong reasons.  Beauty (like love and pleasure) is as much a social construction as race.
  • In the Future, We Kill Our Attackers: Rihanna’s “Man Down” as Afrofuturist Text:  One of my favorite videos and one of my favorite posts.  Again–I was lucky to be reading about afrofuturism that week or I never would have imagined a connection between the two.  Thank Gawd for black visionary thinking by Alondra Nelson, Isiah Lavender, Darryl Smith and more.
  • #SayItLoud…and Dirty?, Or How Rodney McMillian’s Carpet is My Mama/Daddy/Abuela’s Carpet:  Nothing political provoked this one so I probably should have saved it and made it the first draft of some later essay on art, privilege and blackness (or submitted it to some e-mag as a review of the exhibit.  But I was in the moment and I tossed it up here.  Doesn’t matter, I love how the piece and the experience of viewing it in a gallery made me think about what art is and what it means to an upwardly mobile black and Puerto Rican woman like myself.
  • Loving Vampire Diaries: Why History, Slavery and Race in Fandom Matters:  I feel the same way about this piece as the one above–I probably should have saved it and made it the first draft of some later essay on slavery, race, fandom and the Vampire Diaries.  The only thing that stopped me from doing that was timing; I was already late entering the series, the hype about it has passed and the opportunity to add something new to the discussion was passing as well.  And thus, here it appears, hanging out at Nuñez Daughter.  Many thanks to folks like @karnythia who linked to it on their blogs and Tumblrs.   This was also the first post where I attempted to meld histories of slavery with pop culture (as opposed to politics and larger structural oppression).  I’d like to do that more often in the New Year (i.e. Hell on Wheels, the rest of Vampire Diaries, etc.) so expect Right/Wrong to appear again.

Along with the above posts, in 2011 I manifestoed, I memorialized and I witnessed.  And I learned.  And I grew.  Thank gawd for having the time, space and energy to change (#peace to Lauren Olamina).

Great things are coming in the new year.  Along with regular Friday posts, AMC 2012 is on its way, and we will be there.  A new #AntiJemima is in the works (#peace to Dove + Mdot) and we look forward to working out her kinks and introducing her sometime next spring.  Best yet, Kismet is taking the #AntiJemimas on the road; she may be presenting at a conference near you!  Stay on the look out.

I’m taking a break, but I’ll be back on the 13th.  Until then, enjoy the posts above, check out the Top Posts in the sidebar, or leave me a note on Tumblr or Twitter.

And enjoy your Capricorn Season too.  Be good….

abrazos,

Kismet

Leave a Reply

