2011 Clarion West Write-a-Thon

via K. Tempest Bradford:

In a little less than two weeks, the Clarion West class of 2011 will begin their 6-week intensive workshop. At the same time, the CW Write-a-Thon will begin. A write-a-thon is a lot like a marathon. Instead of sponsoring someone per mile, you sponsor them per week. If they reach their writing goals for the week, you pledge to send Clarion West a certain amount of money. There are six weeks of write-a-thoning to mirror the six weeks of workshopping at Clarion West.

The deadline to sign up for this event is June 18th. There are a couple dozen people signed up already, but Clarion West needs more folks to sign up and get sponsored to reach their fundraising goals. I think that you (yes, you. No, not that other person, You) should sign up to participate….

Now we come to the portion of the post where I sweeten the pot a little. Usually with fundraising things such as this it’s customary to offer prizes to people for pledging money. I’m going to do something different, because my goal is to get people to sign up. So, anyone who participates in the Clarion West Write-A-Thon, has at least 3 sponsors OR has at least $100/week in pledges, and meets at least 4 out of their 6 weekly goals, will be entered in a drawing for a free eReader.

The eReader in question is the new Kobo eReader Touch Edition, out this month. If you want a taste of it, there’s a hands-on post here. On Monday or Tuesday there’s likely to be a full review.
I have some other new or like new gadgets in my possession that I may be able to offer up as well, but the Kobo eReader is for sure….

Directions on how to sign up are there and here.

I won’t even pretend I have time to do a six-week write-a-thon. Between moving, academic work and other sundries, I will set myself up to fail.

But Clarion West is right up there with AMC on my list of things to do this conference/writing season. My goal is to be there next year. Hold me to it!

If you haven’t heard about Clarion West yet, explore the page here.  They, along with the Carl Brandon Society, sponsor an Octavia Butler Memorial Scholarship Fund (cuz, you know, she’s important).

If you end up signing up for the write-a-thon, let me know so I can cheer you on! :)

Regards,

The Sable Fan Gyrl

 

~*~*~*~*~*~~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

The Sable Fan Gyrl joins Kismet Nuñez is one of the Skillsharers of the of the 3rd Annual INCITE! Shawty Got Skillz workshop at the 2011 Allied Media Conference!  Help us get to Detroit!  Click here!  


Leave a Reply

