Days 14-20 Catch Up: I Love Brown People

Quick & dirty blogging continues with the video series:

One dark and stormy night, @Latinegro founded the 30 Day Latino Blog Challenge. He scheduled it to coincide with Latino/a and Latin American Heritage Month (I hate the word Hispanic) which began today and ends October 15th. And, hospitable fellow that he is, he’s invited any Latino blogger to join in.

Since I can count on one hand the number of fellow Afrolatina bloggers I know, I think I’ll take the plunge. After all, I haven’t written a post specific to Latina or Afrolatina issues for awhile now. For 30 days and nights, I owe the interwebs at least two paragraphs on the topic o’ the day. To follow along (or backtrack) click the tag “latina/o heritiage month.” Today’s topic(s): Well, see below….

Ahem. I’ve got a mini-break while my Time Machine backs up, but I’m also going to be doing some full out cheating. Sowwy.

Day 14 is Favorite Latino Musician. I’m doing a redirect.

Day 15 is Latinos in the Movies. I’m giving you a video:

Day 16 is What Do I know about indigenous culture. I’m doing a redirect.

Day 17 is Why I love Latinas (or Latino Men). Seriously? This deserves so much love. But I’m going to give you some superficial. And a picture is worth a thousand words:


Day 18 is Latino Art is just a good excuse for me to pass on this video:

Day 19 is Religion. The Organization for Lucumí Unity

& Day 20 is Latino Stereotypes I Wish I Could Change:

That all brown people are illegal immigrants, thugs, kidnappers, bandana wearing, open vagina welfare queens who have too many babies waiting to steal jobs that “Americans don’t want” and loafing on someone else’s Social Security number. Or Jennifer Lopez.

Or that black and brown peoples are 1) somehow separate and 2) don’t get along. Toma:

Mr. SONI: Well, I would say that economically speaking, they are part of one community. I think it’s very important to remember that five years ago, when Katrina made landfall and the levees were breached, hundreds of thousands of African-American workers and their families lost their jobs and their livelihoods and they were excluded from return. They were displaced and effectively locked out of jobs in the reconstruction.

Meanwhile, immigrant workers were brought in – included, but exploited. While one community was excluded and locked out, another community was exploited. And because of public policy and because of, you know, very divisive public policy and corporate practice in the last five years, there has been a sense of competition among these communities. These communities have found themselves pitted in some ways against each other.

On the ground, however, as far as everyday economics of real life goes, I believe that they are part of one community and that a closer look reveals a lot less competition and a lot more cooperation than one would think.

KEYES: Gerod, your radio program takes calls mostly from African-Americans. What have they been saying about the influx of Latinos into the city?

Mr. STEVENS: I can agree wholeheartedly with his previous statements, but I do think that there has been some discontent with the African-American population more so because of the fact that they were here before. And one thing that has been discussed is that the Latino population that has come into the city did some jobs that not necessarily African-Americans or any other race wanted to do in the rebuilding process. So, a big thank you went out to the Latino population in helping with the rebuilding of this city.

I do think that what has been brought up and probably talked about more so is the number of jobs, the number of millions of dollars that have come into the city for the rebuilding population – rebuilding the population. And African-Americans have been left out of the process.

And who has been exploited is the Latino population because they’ve come in -being brought in by a lot of, I would say, huge contractors that get these big federal contracts, bring in a Latino population that may be working for less, just so they would have some income and also could be in the United States, and then after they do the work, maybe even exploited to the position of being called by Immigration to deport them so they don’t have to get paid….

Listen to the rest here.

One thought on “Days 14-20 Catch Up: I Love Brown People

  1. Pingback: Days 21-29 Catch Up: The Quick & Dirty Finish « Nuñez Daughter

Leave a Reply

