Day 9 Catch Up: Kismet Discovers Fania All-Stars

One dark and stormy night, @Latinegro founded the 30 Day Latino Blog Challenge. He scheduled it to coincide with Latino/a and Latin American Heritage Month (I hate the word Hispanic) which began today and ends October 15th. And, hospitable fellow that he is, he’s invited any Latino blogger to join in.

Since I can count on one hand the number of fellow Afrolatina bloggers I know, I think I’ll take the plunge. After all, I haven’t written a post specific to Latina or Afrolatina issues for awhile now. For 30 days and nights, I owe the interwebs at least two paragraphs on the topic o’ the day. To follow along (or backtrack) click the tag “latina/o heritiage month.” Today’s topic(s): Talk about Music related to your culture

I love Nuñez Mom. I do. But I swear she does stuff to put my non-Nuyorican-ness on blast.

So one day she comes home and she says, “You ever hear of Fania All-Stars?”

I, of course, am like, “No. Who are they?”

*big sigh* *big huff and puff* Until finally, Nuñez Mom pulls out a CD. Fania All-Stars. She bought it at Starbucks.

Cue the #wereminisce, black and white scenery as Nuñez Mom goes into how she and Nuñez Titi used to listen to Fania All-Stars on the radio. How the big band concept was so spectacular and so Puerto Rican. How Celia Cruz sang with them and the sound reminded her of being back in New York, in the South Bronx, dancing salsa and merengue in the friggin streets.

Cue me putting that sucker in the machine (anything to get closer to a colorful past that I knew nothing about):

Try and tell me she isn’t fabulous? Before Beyonce, J-Lo or Ga Ga there was…Celia.

One thought on “Day 9 Catch Up: Kismet Discovers Fania All-Stars

  1. Pingback: Days 14-20 Catch Up: I Love Brown People « Nuñez Daughter

Leave a Reply

