Rapsody and Treva Say….

Rapsody: My first encounter, that I can remember, where I saw Hip-Hop and I was like, “Wow”… was MC Lyte’s “Georgie Porgie” video because it was, “a female is doing this?” And she was a Black female, and it was poetic. After her, you know, Lauryn Hill and Queen Latifah. And I like Lil’ Kim, but I was more on the Lauryn Hills and MC Lytes because they positioned themselves in Hip-Hop  visually as something else, as being strong without taking off the clothes, and they were smart and witty with their words. From then, I always knew it was something that I wanted to do.

Treva: Interesting. How important is it for you to identify as a female artist? Do you frame yourself as an MC, as a female MC, or is it something that fluctuates depending on who you’re in conversation with?

Rapsody: It’s real important to me because lately I’ve heard a lot of males saying, “I’ve never dug female MCs like that, I don’t really like them, but you, you’re alright.” And I’m like, “What do you mean you never listened to female emcees? You’re not gonna sit here and tell me you didn’t bump Lauryn Hill and MC Lyte. That’s a lie.”

Read the rest.

Leave a Reply

